Offical Home of Wiggle High5 Pro Cycling

Anna-Bianca Schnitzmeier on the attack in Giro della Toscana Queen stage

Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling’s Anna-Bianca Schnitzmeier went on the attack as part of a ten-rider breakaway group in the third stage of the Giro della Toscana, between Segromigno in Piano and Capannori, on the toughest day of the race. The 23-year-old German, and her nine companions, broke away from the peloton on the fourth ascent of the climb to Segromigno in Monte, and managed to get 30 seconds clear before the riders at the top of the general classification began to accelerate into the second half of the stage.


“Anna, Lotte [Becker], Lauren [Kitchen] and Emily [Collins] all tried to get into breaks early on, and Anna made it which was good,” said Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling directeur sportif Simon Cope. “We didn’t want to take too many risks so close to the Worlds, but we wanted to be part of the race.”

A six-rider group escaped pulled clear of the peloton the as it scaled the big climb to Valgiano for the first time. With all of the pre-race favourites present, the peloton didn’t chase the group, and World champion Marianne Vos (Rabobank-Liv/Giant) won the stage, ahead of Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS) and Anna van der Breggen (Sengers Ladies).

Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling’s best finisher was Linda Villumsen, in 16th place, as part of a 13-rider group that finished 3’30” behind the winner.


“Giorgia [Bronzini] said at the start that she didn’t want to put herself in a box today,” Cope explained, “so she didn’t try to go with the group. It was the same with Linda, as she’s just coming back from her illness in the Tour de l’Ardèche.

“Linda was with the leaders when they hit the climb, but she didn’t want to put herself into the red after being so sick,” Cope added. “She just rode within herself and finished well in the second group.”

Tomorrow’s fourth and final stage will be the race’s traditional finale in the city of Florence, which will host the upcoming World championships. This stage has been good for Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling’s riders in the past, with Bronzini winning in 2005, 2010 and 2012, and Becker in 2011.


1. Marianne Vos (Rabobank-Liv/Giant)
2. Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS)
3. Anna van der Breggen (Sengers Ladies)

16. Linda Villumsen (Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling)

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On LinkedinCheck Our Feed