Offical Home of Wiggle High5 Pro Cycling

Wiggle Honda to start European season at the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

After some outstanding results in Australia, and a strong showing in Qatar, Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling will line up at its first European road race of 2014 in the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad on Saturday, the 1st of March, as part of the traditional Belgian “Openingsweekend.” With six of the squad’s riders  at the Track World Championships in Cali, Colombia, this weekend, however, the orange and black team will start the race with limited expectations.


“Charlotte Becker will be the leader of the team as she brings a lot of experience to the team,” said Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling directeur sportif Franky Van Haesebroucke. “My ambitions are not too high for Omloop Het Nieuwsblad as it’s a 1.2 race. Our main performances should come from the Tour of Flanders on, after our training camp in Italy!!

“We miss our top sprinter Giorgia Bronzini, who is at the World Championships, so we have to look for breakaways and try to finish on the podium from there,” Van Haesebroucke added. “The weather will be okay so that’s good for a girl like Emily Collins, who we will play out for if it comes down to a big bunch near the end.”

The 126.7km race, which starts and finishes in the city of Gent, will feature eight of the fearsome bergs of Flanders, including the super-steep Paterberg, as well as six sections of cobblestones.

wiggle 003

As well as Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling’s first European race of the season, the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad will also see the debut in the black and orange colours of Spanish time trial champion Anna Sanchis.

“I really want to start competing and, although I had planned to debut by the end of March, I will use this race as preparation,” Sanchis said. “I’m very excited about my first race with Wiggle Honda, and I would like to stay near to Lotte Becker and help her all I can.”

Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling team for the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad (1.2)
Charlotte Becker (Germany), Emily Collins (New Zealand), Emilia Fahlin (Sweden), Mayuko Hagiwara (Japan), Anna Sanchis (Spain) and Anna-Bianca Schnitzmeier (Germany)

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On LinkedinCheck Our Feed